Students Recognized for Academic Achievements

Emily Estes, recipient of the Board of Trustees Award, with Julie Filizetti, Chair of the Board of Trustees.

February 14, 2012

Menlo College held the annual Honors Convocation on Friday, February 10, to celebrate its high-achieving students. The event recognized the Fall 2011 Dean’s List recipients, candidates for graduation with honor, and nineteen students who received special awards, including the Board of Trustees Award, the highest honor that a student can receive at Menlo.

“The awards exemplify the best and the most all-around students in academics as well as leadership and scholarship,” said Yasmin Lambie-Simpson, Dean of Student Affairs and organizer of the event. “It’s about our outstanding students being recognized by the Menlo community. Everybody on campus, all faculty and staff had an opportunity to vote for their students.”

One of the highlights of the evening was a speech by Menlo alumnus and member of the Board of Trustees, Kristine Thagard ’77, who shared her experience of being one of the first women to attend Menlo.

Students who received special awards for their outstanding academic achievements include:

Al Jacobs Award
Katrina Smith

Don Jordan Award
Ululani Reyes

O’Brien Awards
Flor Rogel, Marius Schulz, Charnae Dickson, John Schott, Kathleen McClain, Anthony Bernard, Danielle Lane, and Jeff Graby

Collies Steer Award
Corie Rose Thompson and Will Ireton

Mass Communication Award
Kaila Lunn

Liberal Arts Award
Amanda Vegas

Wall Street Journal Award
Sean Meyer

Judge Russell Award
Eric Dawson

Golden Oak Award
Sidra Iqbal

Menlo Spirit Award
Hanna Malak

Board of Trustees Award
Emily Estes