Menlo Celebrates Academic Excellence

On Friday March 22, 2013, Menlo College held the annual Honors Convocation dinner to recognize student academic success. Students and their families, faculty, and staff came together to celebrate students on the Dean’s List and recipients of special awards, including the Board of Trustees Award, the highest honor that a student can receive at Menlo.

“I had a wonderful time at the convocation dinner,” said senior Kristina Roome, winner of one of this year’s Collis Steere Awards (Athletes with the Highest GPA's). “I was honored to receive the award and it means a lot to me that the school is acknowledging my effort over the past 2 years.”

Students who received special awards for their outstanding academic achievements include:

Board of Trustees Award (Highest Honor)
Katrina Smith

Wall Street Journal Award (Outstanding Scholarship in Management)
Anthony Bernard

Mass Communications Award

Stephanie Wertz

Psychology Award
Jose Chacon

Judge Russell Award (Oustanding Scholarship, Leadership, Character and Service in Management)
Steven Schaub

Golden Oak Service Award (Outstanding Scholarship and Volunteerism)
Greig O’Connor

Collis Steere Awards (Athletes with the Highest GPA's)
Jan-Niklas Erasmy, Kristina Roome, Ululani Reyes, and Coleman Cox

Richard F. O'Brien Awards (All-around Excellence), Freshmen
Jessica Rossi and Gabriel Deol

Richard F. O'Brien Awards, Sophomores
Laurel Donnenwirth and Jake Fohn

Richard F. O'Brien Awards, Juniors
Donovan Bonner and Carlie Belmodis

Richard F. O'Brien Awards, Seniors
Chelsea Bryson and Devon Jonsson

Menlo College Spirit Award (Graduating Senior Demonstrating Generosity of Spirit for Four Years)
Soumya Mathew

Al Jacobs Scholarship
Jessica Syracuse

Don Jordan Scholarship

Charnae Dickson